Something Near and Dear to My Heart

Happy Friday Everyone!

Today I wanted to blog about something that is very important to me.  Some of you may or may not know this but October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. 

 

pink ribbon
Image via Wikipedia

 

 Some many people don’t know how much of an impact breast cancer has on women’s lives. 1 out of 8 women in the U.S. will develop breast cancer in their lifetime.  That’s right I said 1 out of 8.  It’s a very alarming statistic and quite frankly scares me to death.  Breast cancer has the second highest fatality rate among all cancers, lung cancer being the first.

I will be the first one to admit that I didn’t take the impact that breast cancer has on someone seriously until it struck someone I love.  Thankfully it the cancer was caught in time, in Stage 1, and the doctors were able to remove the cancer and with a little radiation therapy my loved one is now been breast cancer free for over a year now. 

You never think it could happen to you or someone you love but it does.  I will never forget the day I received that phone call, where I was, what I was doing, and most importantly the impact it had on me.  Even though the type of breast cancer that was found was small and was easily treated with a lumpectomy and little radiation I was still in shock. 

“Can this really be happening?”

“Is it really the c word?’

It shakes you to your core.  So today I am here to stress to you the importance of Breast Cancer Research on many different levels.  First to all women of all ages out there to please not take breast cancer lightly.  Get your annual mammogram, do the monthly breast checks and talk to your doctor.  My relative that was diagnosed with breast cancer found out she had it through her annual mammogram.  Secondly I want to say thank you.  I want to say thank you to everyone who has ever supported or donated to the breast cancer awareness fund.  It’s because of your contributions that money went towards furthering of breast cancer research and saved my relatives life.  I whole heartedly thank you.  You are a hero. Thirdly, I want to urge people to give to breast cancer research and volunteer.  There are many many organizations out there that need help and you can’t give to all of them.  But I stress to you the importance of giving.  Have an amount that you are going to give to charity’s every year and try to stick with it every year.  It could be $50 or $200.  It doesn’t matter how much you give, all that matters is that you give. 

I could go on for days talking about this but I am not going to take up all your time with this.  If you would like to learn more about breast cancer, breast cancer research, and the breast cancer foundation here are some links to some very helpful websites.

http://www.breastcancer.org/

http://www.cancer.org/Cancer/BreastCancer/index?ssSourceSiteId=null

http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/

Before I go there is one more thing that I would like to mention.  Even though researchers and doctors don’t know what causes breast cancer there have been some evidence that an increase in breast cancer risk is brought on by the types of food you eat.  Everyone encourages us to eat healthier and eat lots of fruits and vegetables.  Well a lot people don’t know this but it could be what’s inside those fruits and veggies that causing breast cancer.  The pesticides that farmers put on your fruit and veggies could be making you sick.  I am not telling you to stop eating these types of foods I am just asking you to be vigilant.  Make sure you wash all fruits and veggies throughly and when buying fruit try to buy fruit that has to be peeled.  Like oranges, bananas, melons…etc.  But if sacrificing those strawberries or grapes is not option, like me I love strawberries and grapes, try to buy organic.  Read the labels!  Yes, the organic food might be a little more expensive but when it comes to your life I think you can make the sacrifice to shell out the extra couple of pennies.

 

Pink for October
Image by NinJA999 via Flickr

 

2 thoughts on “Something Near and Dear to My Heart

Leave a Reply

