The Long Awaited Headboard Post

Hi Friends,

My goodness time flies when you are having fun!  I have been busy busy this past weekend hanging out with my Mama!  She is such a gem and I thank God everyday for blessing me with her.  She had meetings in Baltimore this week and decided to come early and spend the weekend with me. She took the train down from Baltimore to Richmond.  Train traveling in Alabama is sparse, so it was a real treat for her to get to ride the train.  She enjoyed it throughly to say the least and discovered more things on the train then I ever have when I have ridden it.  When I ride the train up to D.C. I don’t even get out of my seat but it sounded like she was all over the place, venturing to the snack bar and the bathroom.  Ok so when I say venturing all over the place I just mean the snack area and the bathroom, this is a train for goodness sakes they don’t have a pool or a sun bathing deck or anything. 

Anyhoo our weekend together was great!  Lots of eating, shopping, and catching up.  I have been feeling down in the dumps the past couple of weeks about a few things and this visit really helped revitalize my faith and brought me peace to a couple of daunting questions.  Leaving her Sunday evening was so hard.  Living far from your family is sometimes hard but the times that we do spend together are so special and I can’t wait to spend time with them over Thanksgiving.

In other news I finally got my act together and took pictures of my glorious DIY headboard. 

Since I didn’t take any pictures while in the process of making the headboard I just took it off the wall and took some random photos for you all to see the ends and outs of it.

The back side of the head board.
 
The batting used underneath the fabric to give the headboard a nice soft cusion.
Staples to secure the batting and fabric to the canvas frame.

So I can’t take full credit for coming up with the glorious DIY headboard.  I have been searching for years to find the perfect headboard and I just couldn’t find something that inexpensive.  Then I went with the option of making it myself but I am just not good with power tools, and saws and what not.  But then I found this easy way to make your own headboard and I was sold!  The only powerless tools you need are scissors and a staple gun.  Easy peezy!

I found this easy pattern over at Young House Love Blog.  The good couple over there were able to show you a step by step tutorial of how to make your own headboard.

Here is the link to tutorial:

http://www.younghouselove.com/2008/07/how-to-upholster-a-headboard/

I would love to take credit for this wonderful masterpiece but unfortunately I can’t.  The creative people at Young House Love.com are the ones with ultimate creative minds.  If you haven’t taken a peek at their blog before I recommend you check it out. 

All right folks that’s all I have for right now but I will be back with some creative crafts for the fall!

Yaaa fall!

Later Gators!

One thought on “The Long Awaited Headboard Post

Leave a Reply

