Prayer Requests

Hurricane Irene as Seen from Space
Image by NASA Goddard Photo and Video via Flickr

Hey Bloggers,

This past week and weekend have probably been the worst week of my life to date.   Hurricane Irene just did a number on everyone who lives on the East Coast.  Millions are without power and the destruction that Irene left in its wake is just devastating.   I thankfully and everyone I know was not hurt by the earthquake or the hurricane.  There are lots of trees down, power lines down, and homes that have been affected by the natural disasters that hit the east coast this week.

I plead for your thoughts and prayers for these people on the east coast as they try to put their lives back together.  The death count in Virginia is low but still very sad.  The fact that even one life had to be taken because of the events this past week/weekend brings tears to my eyes.

I myself am still without power but I am surviving and managing as best as possible.  I am one of the lucky ones in this whole thing, it could have been a lot worse. I have so many blessings and I am very thankful for T’s parents Betty and Matt.  They were saints this past weekend.  They gave me a warm meal and shelter on Saturday night and provided me with coolers and ice for my cold food for my apartment, and a lantern that has been amazing these past couple of days.  They have no idea how grateful I am for everything they have done for me.  Without there help I don’t know how I would have survived this hurricane.

I have learned my lesson this time around. Not actually having been through a hurricane before I didn’t really take this hurricane seriously.  I did some stocking up last-minute and unfortunately I was unable to get a lot supplies that I needed.  NEVER again will I take a hurricane for granted. Once the hype of this hurricane calms down I will be buying the following things and have them on hand at all times.

1.) Batteries (Every kind under the sun)

2.) Lanterns

3.) Coolers (Big ones, possibly 2 or 3)

4.) Battery Powered Radio

5.) Gas cans filled with gasoline (in case I run out of gas and need to use to fill up car)

6.) Food not needed to be refrigerated

7.) Generator (Probably not going to run out and get one of these because they are expensive but seriously considering it.)

8.)  Power cord adapter for my laptop to be able to charge it in my car.

All this stuff is going to be expensive but I know will be worth it! It will make not having power, etc. be a lot more tolerable.

To everyone on the east coast I hope this post finds you well.  I hope you all had minimum damage and are safe.

Once things calm down a little more I will be posting more about the usual stuff.

Stay Safe Gators!

Leave a Reply

