Oh Irene….

A cropped image of Hurricane Irene making land...
Image via Wikipedia

Hurricane Irene will make numero dos natural disaster to hit the east coast this week.  Why must the hurricane hit over the weekend on my days off?  Doesn’t Irene know that I have plans this weekend? I have places to go, people to see…I am a very important person you know.

 
I am still contemplating if I should go down to Durham to see T this weekend or not.  I’m just unsure what Irene is going to do?  Hurricanes are so unpredictable.

Regardless if I go to Durham this weekend or not I most definitely will be doing these inside projects.

Check them out!

Felt Flowers

http://befickle.blogspot.com/2010/04/little-somethin-for-mom.html

These felt flowers are adorable and look so easy to make!  The materials needed to make these little guys is cheap so you could make a flower for every color in the rainbow!  I thought these would look cute on winter coats!

DIY Coasters

T and his furniture is in desperate need of some coasters and instead of him buying some I told him I would make some for him!

http://lightrefreshmentsserved.com/?s=coasters

Click on the link above to take a look at these adorable DIY coasters.  I started working on these this past week and just need to add the finishing touches to them.

Sock Owls

Y’all know I love owls and when I saw this easy tutorial on how to make them I jumped right on the sock owl bandwagon!

http://whimsyloft.com/2010/02/tutorial-socks-owl/

These owls are adorable and you can really get creative with different colors when making these little guys!  I started this project a couple of weeks ago and it got put on hold because I am lazy of life. I have no clue what I going to do with these guys or who I am going to give them to. I guess they could be childs toy, I didn’t really think it through before I started this project.  Oh well.

 Button Letters

This project is über easy (but most of the project I venture into are) and looks way fun to make. 

http://www.diyideas.com/images/img_wall-artlg_ss9.jpg

http://www.lilsugar.com/Button-Craft-Ideas-18611674

I have a wall in my bedroom that needs to be filled and I was thinking of doing a collage of different pictures to fill up the space. This bad boy will be one of those pictures. 

On finding this little button letter project I found other projects that also make use of buttons.  I hope to find the time between all of these natural disasters to take a go at those projects as well.

You might be asking where does Colleen come up with all these great DIY ides?  I have the answer for you.  One word, Pinterest.

Maybe I have shared this wonderful find of website to you all before but regardless your going to hear about it again because I love it, love it, love it.  If you know what Pinterest is then you are probably addicted to it as much as I am.  If you’re not familiar with Pinterest go to www.pinterest.com and check it out.  You pin your favorite pictures for the world-wide web and it saves it to your electronic Pinterest account.

Pinterest has wasted a lot of my time, my money (on all the DIY project supplies) and early on set arthritis in my right hand.  (No joke some days my hand hurts really bad from all of the pinning I do on Pinterest.)

But besides that it’s pretty much wonderful and I love it!  As I clearly said earlier with three loves.

Anywho check it out.

Alright folks I must go, I have to keep a watch on the terrible Irene to see where it’s going.  For anyone in the hurricane’s path I hope you have moved to higher ground or gotten the heck out of there! 

Be safe bloggers!

 

Leave a Reply

