A HURRICANE IS A COMIN’!!!!

I don’t know where y’all live but in Richmond, VA we are going to be hit with storms from the latest hurricane Irene on Saturday and Sunday.  I don’t know about you but I am not a fan of these hurricanes and I am not at all prepared for it either.  Back in May the state of Virginia had a tax-free weekend on all hurricane preperation equipment and needless to say I didn’t take full advantage of this opportunity.  What do I do?  What do I need?  I know very little about hurricanes, seeing as I grew up in northern Alabama and hurricanes were the least of my worries. Lets just say they call northern Alabama tornado valley for a reason. Yeah…we get our fair share of tornados.  And for that I am prepared. But a hurricane I just don’t know what to do.  Run the oppoisite direction of the storm is my first and only line of defense.

Helpful hints on how to ride out this storm would be very appreciated.

Y’all I have been so bad about not updating the blog in a timely fashion.  I have been uber busy!  My little T moved into his new apartment at Duke this past weekend.  I know he was a little sad to first see his parents leave and thento see me to leave.  And no cable or internet to fill his thoughts with other things then being sad.  It broke my heart to have to leave him Sunday afternoon.  But last night I got the best news a girlfriend could ask for.  This whole week he is in orientation for his graduate program and yesterday was his first day! He called me last night and was just over joyed with excitement!  He loves the program he is in.  He met lots of new people…aka new friends!  And hes just loving life at Duke!  It made my heart light up with joy to hear that he is doing so well! I have been praying for him that God will show him the path in which he is intended to be on and I think Thomas has found that path.  I miss him a lot but I know that being at Duke is the best thing for him. With this graduate program under his belt it will open so many opportunities for employment!  He has a bright future ahead of him!

Here are some pictures I took this past weekend of T’s sweet new digs and of the Duke Campus.

Hahaha I think T was slightly embarrassed that I was acting like a tourist taking pictures on our campus walk of Duke.

 

 

 

Haha T looks so distressed in this picture but think he was just concentrating on whatever was on the computer sceen.

 

Hahahaha he makes me laugh so hard sometimes.  T has some crazy hair and just doesn’t care.  He will leave the house with his hair sticking straight up and not even care. He doesn’t own a hair brush and refuses to buy one.  I tried to comb his hair a few times and he wigged out.  His explanation for not having a hair brush is that he doesn’t need one because his fingers do just fine as acting like a brush.  He is one funny guy. 

This picture was taken on Thursday the day before Thomas moved into his new apartment at Duke.  He had a little helper with him to pack the Uhaul.

Skipper is such a sweet girl and addicted to car rides. She thought that she was going to Durham with T too!

Well folks that’s all I have right now.  I have a few DIY projects up my sleeve that I will be showing you all soon!  Some are for T and some are for me!

I must go now and prepare myself for the hurricane that is coming my way!

Later Gators!

Leave a Reply

