Apartment Update

So I do believe y’all deserve an update on the new apartment.  I finally, finally found some closets that are durable enough to support the sheer volume of all my clothes. 

Here is a picture of the clothes racks with all my clothes in them.  It looks a bit messy right now but I will get it all cleaned up.  I just wanted to give you all a visual of what they look like.  They are huge by the way, and heavy.  They came in a box and you had to build them yourself.  The building part wasn’t that bad but trying to get them upstairs was difficult.  These bad boys are heavy.  Thankfully T was there to help me take them upstairs and put them together.  He is such a gem!

The trip to Ikea in it self is a whole nother story.  Lets just put it this way the Ikea in northern Virginia is not attached to any other stores and it is so big it has its own parking garage. I have never seen so many people in one store before, it was insane!  You literally have to have a map to get around in the store.  Thankfully a very nice customer filled T and me in on how this whole Ikea thing works and we got busy shopping.  I would be lying if I said that everything went completely smoothly in the beginning, it didn’t. T and I were completely overwhelmed and frustrated and not trying to take it out on each other in the process. Once we finally got the hang of it and got use to being herded like sheep through the aisles we calmed down. 

I will tell you one thing I was ready for an alcoholic beverage after that venture was over.  I wish Ikea had an alcoholic beverage cart available, it would have really help with the stress.  And to add insult to injury, as we were trying to get of northern Virginia and get back on I-95 South and we took the wrong ramp and ended up on I-95 North into DC in the express lane or HOV lane.  I don’t what kind of lane it was, nothing I have been on before.  Well anyways it was a lane in the middle the interstate with cement barricades in between you and two other lanes of traffic.  We couldn’t get off this lane for a good 15 minutes.  This plus our nightmare of a time at Ikea didn’t make for a good trip but it did make for kind of a funny story now. T and I survived and what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

Anyways found lots of goodies at Ikea besides the clothes racks and will definitely be going back but better prepared this time.

Moving on.  I took some before shots of my apartment before my roommates and I moved all of the furniture in and I wanted to share them with you.  This is a great apartment but some rooms definitely need to be repainted.

The foyer when you walk in the apartment.
 
The stairs in the downstairs foyer leading up to our upstairs apartment.
 
On the stairs looking down in to the foyer.
 
The all purpose room/ office that is being used as storage room for us.
 
 
 
The living room
 
The hallway looking into the purple room/ dinning room.
 
 
The purple room...I mean the dinning room.
 
 
 
 

Dinning room again.
 
 
Eileen's bedroom
 
 

My bedroom
 
Carter's bedroom
 
The kitchen...ekk! yellow alert!!!
 
 
 

Another shot of the kitchen.
 
A weird shot of the bathroom.
 
 

Another shot of the bathroom, that also serves as the laundry room as well.
 
 
 
So that’s pretty much it. It doesn’t look like much but it’s a whole lot better than the apartment downstairs and we have down a lot of decorating already to it.  The room that is going to be getting the paint makeover first is definitely the kitchen.  The bright yellow is just not doing it for us.  The kitchen really has potential and I am really excited about it and I think it will be so much better with a fresh coat of paint!  My roommates and I painted our bedrooms before moving in, which I am grateful I did because it takes a lot of work off us.
 
 Later Gators!
Leave a Reply

