The Outer Banks (Part 2)

OUCH!!! I just smashed my ring ringer really really good in my desk drawer. It hurts worse than anything I have ever felt before.  Well actually probably not, I think the pain is just being exaggerated because I am so sleepy.  And I am typing y’all this now with no problem so I think I will be ok. 

Whew, thanks for letting me get that guys.

Moving onto more important things.

I have recently gotten my paws onto some more outer banks pictures and I wanted to share them with y’all. 

This picture cracks me up of T. He is so goofy sometimes. In a good way goofy T, not a bad way! He makes some of the funniest facial expressions.

T waiting for a Wave
He got! He starts paddling.
He's up!
And then he goes back down again.
Theres Taylor riding those waves.
I think he tried to ride that wave...not sure... He's out again looking for another wave. There's me trying to get on the surf board, T had to help me out.
 
 
 Taylor and I are trying to switch surf boards. It’s really hard to reach down to your leg and take of the strap when you have waves crashing into you every couple of seconds.
 
Me waiting for a wave.
 
 
I am in position and play the waiting game. Come on waves!
 
After a few attempts I decide its time to come in...how cool am I with my surf board!
 

 

Oh yeah we are so cool.  I was thinking that the entire time we made that walk and I really for a hot second thought about moving to the outer banks and becoming a surfer chick but reality soon set in.

The other reality that set in was this, read the article below:

NPS confirms that shark caused girl’s injuries

 
Rob Morris | July 19, 2011

The National Park Service has confirmed that a shark attack was the cause of foot and leg injuries to a 6-year-old girl who was playing in 18 inches of water on Ocracoke Island Tuesday.
Hyde County EMS, the National Park Service and the Ocracoke Fire Department were called to Ramp 72 on the report of a shark bite shortly after 5 p.m.
Bystanders said that what appeared to be a shark had attacked the child in the South Point area, according to a Hyde County statement.
The National Park Service said Wednesday that he girl had been playing near the beach with a body board in about 18 inches of water.
She was injured in lower right leg and foot, treated at the scene, then flown by an East Care medical helicopter to Pitt County Memorial Hospital in Greenville, according to a park service statement.
“No other swimmers were injured,” the statement said. “The incident was investigated by NPS law enforcement personnel and it is considered to be a confirmed shark attack.”
The last known shark attack on the Seashore was around 6 p.m. Sept. 3, 2001, on a beach at Avon when a Russian couple was attacked by a shark as they swam to an offshore sandbar. The man died and his girlfriend was seriously injured.
“Late afternoon and early morning are the most common times of day to see these sharks so close to shore,” Cape Hatteras National Seashore Ranger Kenny Ballance said in a Hyde County statement.
GO TO HOME PAGE »
 
Posted in General news
Tags: National Park Service, Ocracoke, Outer Banks news, Shark bite

(Article came from The Outer Banks Voice)

Betty emailed me this article a couple of days ago and I was stunned at what I read.  We didn’t stay on Ocracoke Island but we did do a day trip there.  It’s a very scary reality and something you have to be aware of.  I was even more stunned to read that the last reported shark attack in the outer banks was back in 2001, 10 years ago!

Anyways if your going to the beach anytime soon be careful out there!

In other news Thomas and I will be heading up to Ikea this weekend to get our shop on.  It should be a good time and looking forward to getting organized.  More on our adventures this weekend to come.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

