Websites, Weekend, Painting, Driving, Outer Banks & Books

Hi Folks!,

You think after I went on that rant this morning about college football I would be all blogged out but im not.  I have much more to talk about. Lots of stuff going on this weekend, next week and then the following weekend.

But first I want to introduce you to my boyfriend, T’s website:

web.mac.com/tjenkins43

His website is just getting off the ground like this very blog is and it has to do with fishing and hunting in the Chesapeake Bay and all that entails.  Its looks great and I know it will be a big hit!  I like to think I might have a little something to do with him starting his website, wink wink. Check it out when you get a chance!

Now going on to this weekend!  Like last weekend this weekend is going to be busy and crazy.  I will be painting my room in my new apartment starting tonight and hopefully finishing up on either Saturday or Sunday.  Then depending on when I finish painting I will be driving down to the Outer Banks on either Sunday or Monday night to spend a week with T’s family!  Beach week as they call it here. Then after we get back from the beach I will be moving all my stuff from downstairs to upstairs in my new apartment.  So as you can see I have a jam-packed next couple of days. 

Some of you know this about me and some of you don’t but there are two things that I really really don’t like doing. One is painting, not arts and craft painting but painting rooms. And the second thing is driving!  I have to do both of these things this weekend/week.  Painting just gets boring and driving more than two hours anywhere gets boring as well.  Oh well both have to be done, I will have to put my big girl pants on and get it over with!

Whats next…Books!

Have you been to your local library lately?  Well you should go, I love going to library! I am fortunate that the library is a couple blocks from where I work and I can walk there on my lunch break.  The other thing I like about my library is its FREE!  That’s right I said FREE!  As much as I would like to buy my books or buy a Kindle or a Nook that’s just not in my budget right now and it’s not very economical either! The library has great online resources.  They really have made it a lot easier to find the book you are looking for.

Here a couple of books I am into right now:

The Glass Castle, The Memory Keeper's Daughter (Audio) and The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

Let me just give you a little back history on my track record of reading books.  When I was growing up I loathed reading and would do anything else but read a book.  Doing summer reading was a nightmare in high school!  I dread having to read those required books.  College wasn’t much different.  It wasn’t until about a year ago that I really started to enjoy books. And now I have read so many that I have run out of material to read! When I told my parents about my new hobby my mother couldn’t believe her ears. I guess some of us are late bloomers!  Anyways it use to be she would tell me about all these great books she was currently reading and try to encourage me to read them as well. Well the tables have turned now and I am telling her about all these great books I have read and encourage her to read.  I of course have a little more free time then she does and can read more but still I think its funny how life plays out. 

About the books I am reading now. I just picked up the book the The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls.  I have heard really good things about this book and am very eager to read it! The book in the middle is The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards.  It’s actually an audio book. I thought would be great to listen to for that looooooooooooonnnnnggg car ride to the Outer Banks and back.  The third book I am reading is the Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford.  It has been good so far but haven’t gotten that far into it yet.  

One book in particular that I haven’t been able to get my paws on is the book Bossypants by Tina Fey.  I read a little bit of it on Amazon.com and it’s great!  Oh yeah a  little tip I will share with you all.  When I am trying to find a new book to read I go to amazon.com and look at their top-selling books. When you find a book you like you can click on the book photo and it allows you to read the first few pages of the book.  It’s wonderful, you should try it out sometime.

So I think that about wraps it up. Looking forward to moving into the new apartment and going on my first adventure to the Outer Banks. 

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

